I’ve been effective this morning.

Today is just as beautiful as yesterday was dreary. The sun rose above a frosty white landscape filled with sounds with spring. Black Grouse roosters tried to impress both each other and the hen surrounding them and the sound echoed over the village. Geese, cranes and ravens did their best to drown out them but had little success since also all the other birds and the cows did what they could to be heard.

 

I like how the frost makes it look like gold has been sprinkled on the rust.

 

 

 

 

There was no wind but that changed later in the day, something I was grateful for when I mowed the lawn for the first time this year. The wind both cooled me down and it also dried the grass after the last days rain. It is amazing how fast the grass has grown these last days and how many Dandelions that shone like little suns in the lawn. Just minutes after I had cut down those flowers new stems rose and new dandelion flowers opened up :-) I’m glad I like them a lot :-)

 

Suddenly she just stood there. I think it must be Doris the Doe’s daughter because she had nu hurry to walk away and showed no stress about meeting us. She just slowly walked away not even looking at us :-) You can see on her shape that there soon will be a new one running around here :-)

 

We waited a while before walking after her. I saw her watching us from the edge of the forest :-)

 

 

 

 

I moved two ferns to the pond area this morning and one of them split up to four smaller plants.  I noticed that the white Wisteria is alive and so is two different Clematis, they will all soon climb on those tree trunks I’ve placed by and around the pond. Later on I’ll get some small fish that won’t eat any tadpoles but lots of mosquito larvae instead. There’s not a single frog egg that hasn’t hatched but I can’t see any tadpoles, I guess they hide in the plants.

 

 

 

 

 

After that I washed my clothes and my thumb. I’m not an expert but I do think my thumb look better now, yes there’s still some yuck left but only very little and when I had washed that away fresh blood came out of the wound. My thumb feels much better though so I take that as a good sign. I also replanted some plants (another species of maple seed has germinated :-) ) and I’ve done all this before the clock reached two.

 

 

 

 

 

Now I feel I deserve some rest but first I’ll kill some flies in my kitchen, yes the fly season has started. But so far none of the really annoying ones are out and about yet. The flies in my kitchen are just confused ones that can’t find their way out even if the door is wide open :-) It is time to put up those nets in front of the doors and windows again!

 

This fern just started to grow on the north side of my cottage one year and now I moved it to the pond. I think it is a Matteuccia struthiopteris, Ostrich fern.

 

This I know what it is though :-) It is a special variety of Male fern, Dyopteris filix-mas. It split up in to four plants when I divided the old one by the woodland.

 

Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “I’ve been effective this morning.

  1. hi christer! my ferns are already up and open. glad to hear your finger is better. we are expecting rain which will be perfect for the gardens. do you go back to work tomorrow? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They have just started here :-) But You have had so high temperatures so I’m not surprised.
      My thumb feels better so I do hope it is better too :-) I’ll know better tomorrow when the District nurse will take a look at it. Yes back to work but next week will be a short one, we’re having a holiday later in the week.

      We’ll get some rain tomorrow afternoon so that will help the ferns to establish better, but I am watering them every now and again in the beginning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      You should have been here listening to all the sounds and the best thing was that no one was driving any cars or tractors that early :-)

      I do my best with that thumb of mine :-) Tomorrow the district nurse will take a look at it!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Här har vi just tagit bort den sista gräsmattan till förmån för grus men maskrosor slipper vi inte ändå;( Visst är de fina men jag vill inte gärna ha dem i rabatterna. Men jag springer ju inte ihjäl mig precis i jakten på dem heller;) Det var väldigt vad du var duktig idag som hann med så mycket innan två:) Klart att du ska vila dig nu med gott samvete:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Hade det inte varit för hundarna skulle jag nog också se till att gräsmattan försvann här :-) Men som du säger maskrosor kommer ändå :-)

      Ja det är inte klokt vad effektiv jag var idag, det får alödrig hända igen :-) :-) :-)
      Kolla din spambox, jag har nog några kommentarer där :-)

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. I think it’s great that the doe wasn’t spooked by you and the dogs on your walk.

    Being close enough to nature to get some great pictures sure must be nice! I love the pictures of the fields around your place!

    • Hi Jim!
      I’m glad too because thing can go so wrong if she’s stressed while still carrying the new one. But most of them know us well by now :-)
      I’ve never regretted my move here from the big city, even if there’s lots of nature in Gothenburg as well, forests even.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have to say I have two favorite photos today. The one of the long shot of the Portal, with the frosty field and road, and one of your boys standing there. Then the one of Doris’s daughter, standing as if posing for you! Wonderful! You definitely had a busy day around the cottage!

    • Hi Robin!
      I think my two favorites are the ones where the smoke from the chimney spreads out over the neighborhood.

      The rest of the day was completely calm :-) :-) :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like you got a lot accomplished in the day. So far I have only put up two hanging baskets by the front door. I also bought some kind of daisy on a whim because it looked lonely sitting there by the cash register. It’s agyra something or other. The tag is on it so I can find out but it’s outside and I’m inside and very comfortable on the couch so it can wait. :)
    My favorite photos are the frosty leaves at the top and the rusty, gold-dusted metal thing.
    Sunny and warm here today. The birds around my house were all shouting this morning. Must be spring. :)

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes I did but I’ll make sure this won’t happen again :-) :-)

      I don’t know about any plant called agyra but I think there’s a Greek island called that :-)

      The birds liked yesterdays weather but doesn’t seem to mind that it’s raining today either. They sound just as happy no matter what weather we’re having :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, what a difference the photos show as the day progressed. The frosty beginning was wonderful and the frost has beautiful effects on the leaves. The later photos of the day warming up really show that spring is arriving. My favorites are the field shots. Glad the thumb is doing bette. I also won an internet auction today for a Canon digital Elph, a pocket-size point and shoot which will be very handy and convenient to carry around. It’s used byt came with the Canon battery and charger and my winning bid was below my highest bid, so I was glad for that.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I do like frosty mornings as long as they don’t continue for too long now in spring. It is beautiful with all frosted leafs and things.

      Congratulations! Canon makes great cameras so that was a good buy! It is so much easier to carry around those small cameras and to be honest, they do take very good photographs! I must buy rechargeable batteries to mine! unfortunately I didn’t get any with my camera.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Oh, Christer, it is such a delight stopping by to view your pictures. Some of them can’t be distinquished from paintings. The atmosphere is absolutely enchanting.

  8. Hi Christer..I’m happy to hear your thumb is better. Your description sounded like an infection! Not a good thing, infections!
    You pictures are beautiful! I am hoping I can take picture like yours with my new camera. I did get a lesson from my grandson today on why some of mine are fuzzy…I think it would be good if I learned to take the time to read directions. I am very bad about that.
    Looks like someone is going to be a mother soon. :) No deer what so ever around here. I wish there were. They are beautiful!
    Enjoy your day. :)

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes I have an infection and a rather annoying one! It’s a tough one to break down :-)

      Good that You are taking lessons! It’s usually some tiny things one does wrong so that the photo doesn’t come out like one wants to. But who has the energy to read directions :-) :-) :-)

      Yes it can’t be long now before there’s a little one walking around in the fields :-) We have lots of does here so if the big fox isn’t too successful we’ll have lots of them around when winter comes and they want their apples :-) But they do spread lots of ticks I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    I think your frost pictures are beautiful, but I’m glad they’re your frost pictures, not mine. Good to hear your thumb is on the mend finally.

    Dampness gets to the bones and it is so difficult to stay warm. Today I’m not wearing slippers but sandals so I guess it’s getting warmer finally. They say maybe rain today and for the next two or three. That’s fine with me-everything looks so lush this time of year.

    • Hi Kat!
      I don’t mind frost this time of year but not longer than this month :-) But we do have chilly mornings here even during a hot summer.

      Yes finally it looks like my thumb is healing again! It is a bit tiresome now :-)

      I’m having a fire in the stove right now because the dampness. But as soon as the sun shows just for a minute or two it dries out directly. No sun today though.
      We’ll have very mixed weather here this week but I do hope the warmer weather comes soon even if it means more flies :-) :-) :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Doris’s daughter…having a baby. Life goes on. I hope if Doris is in Heaven, that she went peacefully.
    Frost! Wow, we haven’t had frost forever. it ws 85 degrees today.
    so yes, we know have the dreaded flies, I despise them. they seem to really like to torment my Blue and it makes me furious.
    I will probably have to put that horse stuff in his ears pretty soon. :( Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I’m afraid it wasn’t peaceful but it was quick. We had a couple of Lynx’s here when she disappeared.

      We’ll have more nights with frost here, we usually have our last night with frost the first week in June.

      I wouldn’t mind the flies so much if they didn’t try to get in to my nose or ears!! But it’s still to cold for the most annoying ones so we can still walk in the forest without mosquito hats :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

