I have left winter behind me now.

I saw these clouds this morning and was pretty sure they would come over to us, but thankfully I was wrong :-)

The sun is shining, birds are singing, swallows have arrived and the first group of new House sparrows are jumping around on my roof. Spring is here for real :-) It is a wonderful morning and the kitchen door is open and will stay that way for as long as the sun stays. There is a risk of clouds later today but so far so good.

 

 

 

 

I slept like a baby all night not feeling anything from my thumb. Naturally it still hurts a bit but nothing compared to how it was yesterday. I think I’ll change the bandages tomorrow so I won’t disturb the wound to early. I guess it is stuck rather hard since I must have bled quite much even after the stitches. They didn’t change the bandages on my hips at all the first week after surgery so perhaps it’s to early tomorrow?

 

Half of the old barn ruin fell down during the winter.

 

 

This calf wasn't especially old, it still had some problems with balance :-)

 

We walked in the village this morning and the cattle has finally arrived. It’s almost only highland cattle that stays outdoors all winter here but they are experimenting with other kinds as well now. As long as they can drink and walk in to a shelter in bad weather they really have very little problems with low temperatures. But just seeing the cows and their calves is a sign of spring :-)

 

 

I thought I could see something in the field to the right when we were walking down the road.

 

 

Another sign of spring is when I put out the plants I’ve had in the cold cellar all winter. I only have a few geraniums left down there and those will most likely be picked up today as well. If there’s a risk of frost I’ll just put a blanket over the plants during the night. We usually have our last night with frost the first week in June. I also brought out those Pawpaw (Asimina triloba) plants that germinated already in the seed package. I’ve placed them all in the shadow in my patio, sun would kill them all this early in spring. The leafs has like us no protection towards the sun light after staying indoors all winter.

 

 

 

 

But I think I’ll place the pawpaw’s and geraniums indoors during the night, I’m a bit more careful with them, especially the pawpaw’s since I’ve failed with them before. I’ll try to have them in pots for as long as it is possible and let them spend winter in the greenhouse but they will most likely become to big in the long run and then they’ll have to either die or survive in my garden. The greenhouse effect isn’t that effective up here yet :-)

 

 

One of my absolute favorite flowers, the Dandelion. The first one to open up here :-)

 

One of the peaches I've sown. This was kernels from those flat peaches that we can buy now days. That doesn't mean the fruits from the trees I now have will give flat fruits though, but they will taste just as sweet as any peach does.

 

The second peach tree that I sowed last year, well it might be a nectarine instead but I won't know that until it has flowered and given the first fruits. I also have my Black Walnut there and three apricots that I sowed at the same time, they will all get new pots this spring and next spring the walnut will get a permanent place in my garden. It should survive here with no bigger problems.

 

So far the day has been fantastic so I’ll just eat porridge all day, a day like this is just too good to destroy with more cut wounds :-) :-) :-)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I have left winter behind me now.

    • Hi Laurie!
      They are the working horse type anyway :-) But I’ve seen the owner letting them pull sleds and vagons, normally they only use them as riding horses.
      It has been a very good day today :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. The first photo of those clouds is amazing, beautiful, and thankfully not too threatening. The horses look glorious! It is great to see the pots of all the things you have sown. They look like they are thriving. It takes patience to grow things this way, and you, my friend, are very patient! It is good that you did not cut off your green thumb!!!! Enjoy your beautiful spring day…here it is very cold, with a killing frost overnight.

    • Hi Robin!
      I think those clouds looked amazing but to be honest a bit threatening :-)

      Yes patiens is the number one rule when sowing ones own trees and bushes :-) Some seeds may take several years to even start germinating and then it takes even several more for them to become anything in size :-) :-) :-)

      It is cloudy again but rather warm and nice so I’m glad anyway :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I think you and I must be in the vast minority of people who love dandelions. Over here they are the scourge of lawn lovers everywhere and are ruthlessly eradicated with weed killers, weed block and pre-emergents. But dandelions are a lot like coyotes. The more we persecute them, the faster and more successfully they breed. :)
    I leave all the weeds in my lawn because most of them have pretty flowers. I could do without the vicious roses and thistle even though they have pretty flowers. They are just too aggressive.
    Thanks for the shaggy pony photos. And that first photo is definitely a sky with a story to tell. Good thing it told it somewhere other than your house. :)
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I love dandelions and I would never be able to live in a town where the neighbors demands that one removes them :-) It’s no use even trying here since there’s a huge field just beside my cottage that is filled with them :-) I too leave most weeds, except thistles and nettles. I have the most beautiful lawn of us all here in the village :-)

      I’m slowly removing my Japanese roses, as You say they are just too aggressive!
      Yes it is a good thing those clouds told their story somewhere else but by the sound of it I think relatives to them are heading this way now :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Ahhhhhhhh………love this post.
    What a beautiful walk.
    Adore the little calf and of course the horses.
    My neighbor has a ZILLION Dandelions growing in his yard. He hardly ever mows but prefers to wait for them to go to seed and blow over into my yard. :(
    Nice of him to share! ???
    Enjoy your time off and make sure to soak that bandage before pulling it off! :) – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do have a soft spot for calves :-) and we have a lot of them here now :-)

      I love dandelions and I’m so glad that no one here tries to make me remove them, we have a huge field just beside our cottages that is filled with dandelions every summer :-) :-) :-) You can make a delicious salad with dandelion leafs and the flowers as well and naturally vine from the flowers if You like that. Over here they used to make a coffee substitute by roasting dandelion roots, in fact they are still selling it in health food stores :-)

      I’ll think of that when I’m removing the bandage :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! if you want about a billion dandilions i will send you mine! my bandage was not changed from the ER until the operation. then it was not changed for another week. now i change it every day. i see the doctor again on monday! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      well I think I have just as many out in the field so I’m fine but thanks for the offer :-) :-) :-)

      I’ll take the stitches on Thursday so perhaps I should wait until Monday to change the bandage. They did give me one set of change so I guess they want me to do it some time anyway. I’ll wait until Monday then.
      Good luck at the doctor!
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Nu ;) är det verkligen vår, i går eftermiddag tog jag ut en hel del av mina fuchsiasticklingar och satte dem i pallkragar i några nätter nu har de vassmattor över sig och även på dagen om det är mycket soligt:) Läste om din tumme:( usch det riktigt ryste i mig av obehag. Hoppas att det snart läker sig och slutar att göra ont. Du har ju världens otur;( Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Molnen kom senare på eftermiddagen men det blev faktiskt lite varmare ändå :-) Över 15 grader till slut :-)
      Ja nu fick växterna åka ut i det fria, det är nog kallare nere i källaren än ute ändå :-)

      Det var inte så farligt när jag klöv tummen, men värken efteråt var inget kul. Nu känns den bara av när jag rört tummen för mycket :-)
      Somliga kallar det för klantighet men otur låter så mycket trevligare :-) :-) :-)

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Great photos today Christer. How did you miss the cow and calves? Everything is springtime there and I agree how pretty the dandelions are but they also can take over an entire garden and sap fertilizer from other flowers. We pull them if they land in the flower garden. Is that a black walnut tree you can actually soften the nuts in the oven for stuffing? I buy a bag everything Thanksgiving and weed through the ones that look diseased. I usually get enough for the turkey though. I hope your bandage change doesn’t bring any bad news of infection. I’m pulling for you!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’m not sure what You mean with mis the cow and calves? They just arrived the other day :-)

      Its my dogs that removes the dandelions here, they just love to eat the entire plant :-)

      It is the Black Walnut that comes from America. Very hard to crack open if one is used the the common walnut we have over here :-)

      So far no infection, the thumb doesn’t ache and I have no fever. But one can’t be sure what’s going to happen until it is healed.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

